How to create content effectively and easily as a teamUpdated over a week ago
From real-time editing to feedback and sign-offs, Trint includes a range of collaboration tools to help you work effectively with colleagues and publish content quickly. This guide will explain Trint’s collaboration features and how they work.
This support guide will cover:
How to share a Trint
To give someone access to your transcript, caption or Story file, click the yellow button in the top corner of the navigation. This will bring up a new menu with your sharing options.
You can also share multiple Trints from your dashboard by selecting the check box beside each one and clicking the “Share” button in the navigation bar.
Share with collaborators
This is the primary sharing option that allows you to invite colleagues to view, comment or edit your Trint by adding their email address – including anyone without a Trint account. The three access permissions are:
Editor: Users will have free rein to read, comment, export, share and make any changes that they'd like to your file. This level of permission requires the collaborator to have their own paid Trint account.
Commenter: Users will be able to see your file, the edits you make, the email addresses of other collaborators and can add comments. They will not be able to edit but can share and export the file. Once the user receives the shared files, they can sign up for an account for security reasons to access the shared files. An account will be created, but doesn't have to be paid for.
- Viewer: Users will only be able to see your file, the edits you make and the email addresses of other collaborators. They will not be able to edit or comment but can share and export the file. Once the user receives the shared files, they can sign up for an account for security reasons to access the shared files. An account will be created, but doesn't have to be paid for.
For security reasons, independently of whether a file was shared with Commenter or Viewer permissions, an account will have to be created by the person shared with. This ensures that only they can have access to the shared files. These accounts are defined as Guest accounts and do not have to be paid for.
You can change the level of access you give someone at any time in the “Who has access” section of the Share panel. You can also revoke access completely by clicking on “Remove”.
Send a copy
The second sharing option is to create and send a copy of your file. This will allow someone to make their own edits without changing your original transcript. Just select the “Send a copy” tab from the sharing menu and enter the email address of the recipient. This sharing option is only available for transcription files.
Share a read-only link
The third sharing option it to create a public link to your Trint, allowing anybody with the link to view your file without having any editing access. Just click the read-only link option from the sharing menu.
This sharing option is only available for transcription and Story files.
Generated links can also be disabled at any time from this screen, meaning that anyone with the link will no-longer be able to view your Trint file.
Finding Trints shared with you
If you have been made a collaborator on someone else’s Trint, the file will appear in the “Shared With Me” category of your Trint dashboard.
If a copy of a Trint has been shared with you, the file will appear in the “My Drive” category of your Trint dashboard.
Share with collaborators
This option allows you to share your live file with others.
You can choose from two options:
Can read: The user(s) you share the Trint with will only be able to see your file, the edits you make, and the email addresses of the other collaborators and their permissions. They will not be able to edit or comment on the file. They will be able to export and share the file.
Can edit: The user(s) you share the file with will have free reign to read, comment and make any changes that they'd like to the file. They will be able to export and share the file.
Note: the recipient will be able to edit the existing Story but will not be able to add sections from other Trints into the Story.
Stories can also be shared through a read-only link.
While sharing the story with other collaborators, the original files should be shared with them too. Otherwise the story won't be available for the export for other collaborators. The best way is to put original files and story to one workspace and invite all collaborators to this workspace.
Sharing Caption files
Share with collaborators
This option allows you to share your live file with others who have a Trint account.
You have one sharing option for Caption files:
Can edit: The user(s) you share the file with will have free reign to read, comment and make any changes that they'd like to the file. They can export and share the file as needed.
Note that those on Starter and Advanced plans cannot share Caption files.
Share with Guests
If you need to share a file with someone who doesn't have a Trint account, you can do so. Guests will have reading and commenting permissions. If you would like your guest to be able to edit the file, they will need to sign up for a Trint account.
You can change the level of access you give someone in the Who has access section of the Share panel. You can also revoke access completely by clicking on Remove.
Collaborating on Trint files works the same as many other cloud-based text documents. You will be able to see other users edit text and mark-up the transcription using the following tools:
Highlight lets you mark a selection of text in up to five colors. Helping to note memorable moments, section out your transcript and easily pull quotes into new Stories.
Strike lets you redact unwanted text rather than removing it, making sure timecodes stay intact for playback.
Add Marker allows you to tag points of interest in your transcript for future reference and instantly jump back to them with a click.
Comment helps you make notes while reviewing your transcript and also lets you tag collaborators for feedback and sign off on content.
Create a Shared Drive
Setting up a Shared Drive gives you a communal folder system that can only be accessed by your team. To create a Shared Drive, select the tab along the left side of the Trint dashboard and click the ‘Create a Shared Drive’ button.
To learn more about Shared Drives and how to manage them, see our Shared Drive support article.
This multi-user editing feature will let you work together to find and share the moments that matter, unlock more creative value, and collaborate on projects faster.
You can share Trints, Stories and Caption files by clicking the yellow Share button in the top right corner when you are in your Trint, Story or Caption file. If you select a file from the your My Drive list, you can also click Share from the ribbon menu above the list.
All team accounts now also have access to Shared Drives, see here for more information.
We hope you have found this article useful. If you have any questions, please reach out to us at firstname.lastname@example.org and our team will be happy to help.
Related support guides